---
title: "Manage organisation roles"
canonical: "https://help.scopious.co.nz/space/KB/75157279/Manage%20organisation%20roles"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (excerpt)
> 
> Organisation [roles](https://scopious.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KB/pages/85917701/Glossary+of+Terms#Role) dictate what [permissions](https://scopious.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KB/pages/85917701/Glossary+of+Terms#Permissions) users have in the organisation.

> Macro (toc)

> ℹ️ The **Admin** role is created by default when your organisation is created. The Admin role grants a user all permissions.

> ℹ️ A user can only be assigned a single role.

## Create Role

1. Click on the **Create Role** button at the top right of the page.
2. Enter a name (and optionally a description) and toggle the permissions that you want for this role.
3. Click the **Create Role** button.

![Create a Role.gif](media://71c4a1eb-4970-4bee-8c32-d245a2536dc3)

## View Roles

1. Navigate to the **Organisation** page using the navigation menu on the left side of the screen.
2. Click on the **Roles** tab.

The **Roles** tab allows you to view and manage all roles for your organisation. You will see the **Admin** role, along with all other user defined roles.

You can view an individual role’s permissions by clicking the title of the role card.

## Edit Role

> ℹ️ The **Admin** role cannot be edited.

1. Click the title of the role card.
2. Click **Edit Role**.
3. Make desired changes to the name, description and permissions.
4. Click **Save Changes**.

![Editing a role.gif](media://febfae9c-634e-4e49-b52a-1efac4b21081)

## Delete Role

> ℹ️ The **Admin** role cannot be deleted.

> ⚠️ Any **pending invitations** that were assigned to this role will be deleted. Pending invitation email links will become invalid and so new invitations will need to be sent.

To be deleted, the role must not be assigned to any users.

1. Click the three dots context menu (…)
2. Click **Delete** and confirm the deletion.

![Deleting a role.gif](media://5aa805e5-e83b-4784-acb6-6131beaec083)

## Admin Role

The **Admin** role is a static role that cannot be edited or removed. The owner of the organisation will be automatically assigned this role and they cannot change to a different role. This is to ensure that they always have full access to the organisation.

## Permissions

[Permissions](https://scopious.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KB/pages/85917701/Glossary+of+Terms#Permissions) determine which parts of the application are accessible to users with a certain [Role](https://scopious.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KB/pages/85917701/Glossary+of+Terms#Role). Each role consists of a set of **CRUD permissions** (Create, Read, Update, and Delete) applied to various resources available in the app.

By assigning an appropriate role to each user, you can control their access to each part of the application.

Here are some example roles that could be created:

| **Role Name** | **Role Description** | **Permissions** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Data Admin | Manage creation and deletion of dashboards, alarms, and integrations | Dashboards - CRUD<br>Alarms - CRUD<br>Device Data - R<br>Device Pools - CRUD<br>Integrations - CRUD |
| Member | View dashboards and alarms | Dashboards - R<br>Alarms - R<br>Device Data - R<br>Device Pools - R |
| Network Installer | Install devices and gateways | Devices - CRUD<br>Gateways - CRUD<br>Device Pools - R |
| Billing Admin | View platform costs and manage billing and payment details | Organisation - RU<br>Invoices - R<br>Payments - CRUD |

*Permissions Key: C=Create, R=Read, U=Update, D=Delete*

Example of a ‘Billing Admin’ role:

![image-20250320-012826.png](media://5718f745-92a1-434c-9e38-565d6c802a59)

## Permission Descriptions

|  |  |
| --- | --- |
| Alarms | C - Create new alarms<br>R - View alarms<br>U - Update alarm settings, conditions, and notifications<br>D - Delete alarms |
| Child Organisations (aka Managed Customers) | *This permission is only available to Reseller organisation members*<br>C - Create new managed customers<br>R - View managed customers<br>U - Suspend managed customers<br>D - Remove managed customers |
| Dashboards | C - Create dashboards<br>R - View created dashboards<br>U - Update dashboard details such as name, description and cells<br>D - Delete dashboards |
| Devices | C - Add devices to your organisation<br>R - View devices that have been added<br>U - Update device details such as name, description and location<br>D - Remove devices from your organisation |
| Device Data | C - N/A, leave disabled<br>R - View device data in dashboard cells<br>U - N/A, leave disabled<br>D - N/A, leave disabled |
| Device Pools | C - Add device pools to your organisation<br>R - View device pools<br>U - Update device pools such as name and description<br>D - Remove device pools from your organisation |
| Gateways | C - Add gateways to your organisation<br>R - View gateways that have been added<br>U - Update gateway details such as name, description and location<br>D - Remove gateways from your organisation |
| Integrations | C - Create integrations in device pools<br>R - View integrations<br>U - Update integration details such as name, description, type and integration parameters<br>D - Remove integrations from device pools |
| Invitations | C - Create invitations to allow new members to join<br>R - View who has been invited<br>U - N/A, leave disabled<br>D - Delete open invitations |
| Invoices | C - N/A, leave disabled<br>R - View invoices that are due or already paid<br>U - N/A, leave disabled<br>D - N/A, leave disabled |
| Organisation | C - N/A, leave disabled<br>R - View organisation details, must be enabled<br>U - Update organisational details such as name, website, invoice settings, billing address and billing contacts<br>D - N/A, leave disabled |
| Organisation Users | C - N/A, leave disabled<br>R - View members in your organisation<br>U - Update a member’s role or make a member an owner<br>D - Remove members from your organisation |
| Payments | C - Create new payment methods (credit cards)<br>R - View payment methods<br>U - Update payment method details such as cardholder’s name and expiry date<br>D - Delete payment methods |
| Roles | C - Create new roles<br>R - View created roles<br>U - Update details for a role such as name, description or permissions<br>D - Delete roles |
| Sites | C - Create new Sites and Site Locations<br>R - View created Sites and Site Locations<br>U - Update Sites and Site Locations<br>D - Delete Sites and Site Locations |
| Users | C - N/A, leave disabled<br>R - N/A, leave disabled<br>U - N/A, leave disabled<br>D - N/A, leave disabled |