---
title: "Permissions"
canonical: "https://help.scopious.co.nz/space/KB/174751805/Permissions"
format: markdown
---
##  Permissions

![image-20241203-204726.png](media://0100831b-82e4-496e-bcd8-7d620a8229f2)


Permissions determine which parts of the application are accessible to users with a certain [Role](https://scopious.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KB/pages/85917701/Glossary+of+Terms#Role). This makes the application simpler and more relevant to people in your organisation as users will only be able to access parts of the application they care about.

Here are a few examples:

| **Role Name** | **Role Purpose** | **Permissions** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Data Admin | Manage creation and deletion of dashboards and alarms | Dashboards - CRUD<br>Alarms - CRUD |
| Member | View dashboards and alarms | Dashboards - R<br>Alarms - R |
| Network Installer | Install devices and gateways | Devices - CRUD<br>Gateways - CRUD |
| Billing Admin | View platform costs and manage payment methods | Invoices - R<br>Payments - CRUD |

*Permissions Key: C=Create, R=Read, U=Update, D=Delete*

## Which permissions exist?

|  |  |
| --- | --- |
| Devices | C - Add devices to send data to Scopious Network Server<br>R - See devices that have been added<br>U - Update device details such as name, description, location and more<br>D - Remove devices from Scopious |
| Gateways | C - Add gateways to send data to Scopious Network Server<br>R - See gateways that have been added<br>U - Update gateway details such as name, description, location and more<br>D - Remove gateway from Scopious |
| Dashboards | C - Create a new dashboard<br>R - See created dashboards<br>U - Update dashboard details such as name, description and cells<br>D - Delete a dashboard |
| Organisation | C - N/A<br>R -  See organisation details such as members and<br>U - Update organisational details such as name, website, invoice settings, billing address and billing contacts<br>D - N/A |
| Users | Ignore this permission |
| Organisation Users | C - Add a user as a member to your organisation<br>R - See members in your organisation<br>U - Update a member’s role or make a member an owner<br>D - Remove members from your organisation |
| Invitations | C - Invite new members<br>R - See who has been invited<br>U - N/A<br>D - Delete invitations to members |
| Data | C - N/A<br>R - See device data in dashboard cells<br>U - N/A<br>D - N/A |
| Groups (aka Roles) | C - Create a new role<br>R - See created roles<br>U - Update details for a role such as name, description or permissions<br>D - Delete a role |
| Customers | *This permission is only available for Reseller organisations*<br>C - Add a new customer<br>R - See customers<br>U - Suspend a customer<br>D - Remove a customer |
| Invoices | C - N/A<br>R - See invoices that are due or already paid<br>U - N/A<br>D - N/A |
| Payments | C - Add a new method of paying invoices<br>R - See payment methods<br>U - Update payment method details such as cardholder’s name and expiry date<br>D - Delete a payment method |
| Alarms | C - Create a new alarm<br>R - See alarms<br>U - Update details for an alarm<br>D - Delete an alarm |

## Enable or disable operations

For each resource, you can enable or disable the following operations:

- Create means the ability to add new items
- Read means the ability to see items
- Update means the ability to edit items
- Delete means the ability to delete items